About

Register

“What we do today, defines our Australia tomorrow.”

– Michael Combs, Founder of CareerSeekers and CareerTrackers

About

CareerSeekers is a non-profit organisation supporting Australia’s humanitarian entrants into professional careers. Our program provides in-depth preparation and support to both refugees and people seeking asylum who are either currently studying at university, or looking to restart their professional career in Australia.

Our program supports two distinct groups of asylum seekers and refugees:

  • Mid-career Professionals – those with tertiary qualifications and professional work experience from their country of origin, who strive to re-establish their careers in Australia. These participants undertake paid internships lasting twelve weeks that provide local experience, a local reference and help them establish a network within their chosen profession.
  • University students – full-time university students who undertake paid internships during university breaks in an effort to link their studies with practical work experience. The CareerSeekers university program aligns to existing corporate internship programs.

In 2015, Founder of CareerTrackers, Michael Combs, sought to expand the successful model he had established to support pre-professional Indigenous university students. With the establishment of CareerSeekers, corporate Australia’s focus on multicultural diversity was applied to tackle the issue of underemployment of asylum seekers and refugees.

CareerSeekers is endorsed as an Item 1 Deductible Gift Recipient organisation

CareerSeekers explained

Our Board

Penny Graham (Chair)
Independent Director

Anthony Ewan
Partner
EY

Michael Greene
Deputy Managing Partner
Norton Rose Fullbright

Dorothy Hoddinott AO
Education Sector

Nyadol Nuon OAM
Executive Director, Sir Zelman Cowen Centre, Victoria University

Edward Santow
Industry Professor – Responsible Technology at the University of Technology Sydney (UTS)

Jalal Albshara
(Voluntary)

Advisory Committee

Ian Narev
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
SEEK

Our Team

Michael Combs

Founder

John Gelagin

Chief Executive Officer
john.gelagin@cs.org.au

Crystal Fernandes

Operations Director
crystal.fernandes@cs.org.au

Carolyn Sykes

Program Director
carolyn.sykes@cs.org.au

Anne Shimada

Program Director
anne.shimada@cs.org.au

Kati Regan

Program Director
kati.regan@cs.org.au

Simon Jones

Program Lead (student stream) – NSW/QLD
simon.jones@cs.org.au

Mira Herath

Senior Advisor
mira.herath @cs.org.au

Laalanne Rind

Advisor
laalanne.rind@cs.org.au

Jemina Burman

Advisor
jemina.burman@cs.org.au

Irene Diaz

Advisor
irene.diaz@cs.org.au

Khalid Saadat

Advisor
khalid.saadat@cs.org.au

Jessica Farrugia

Advisor
jessica.farrugia@cs.org.au

Shaheen Whyte

Advisor
shaheen.whyte@cs.org.au

Rouzbeh Nabipourshiri

Advisor
rouzbeh.nabipourshiri@cs.org.au

Victoria Hills

Advisor
victoria.hills@cs.org.au

Hoki Chung

Administrative Assistant
hoki.chung@cs.org.au